This bold, ambitious project is a love letter to Edith Piaf. As a die-hard fan of Ms. Wainwright I can attest to her incredible vocal range and fluency of the French language. The album title literally translates to “Barefoot, Without a Gun, in Paris.” In the wistful ballad, C’est Toujours la Même Histoire, you can hear the sorrow and desperation in her voice as she sings of her lost love. Most of the time I don’t understand what she’s singing about, but it sure is beautiful. Her voice is vibrant and full of passion, evocative of Chryssie Hynde and Kate Bush. This tribute to Piaf is a diamond. I truly believe that Ms. Wainwright is the only living singer with the musical chops to pull off these songs, which were recorded live at Dixon Place in NYC, June 2009. The CD was released in the US in Spring 2010. An accompanying DVD was released as well.

Album Tracklist:

1. “La Foule”
2. “Adieu Mon Cœur”
3. “Une Enfant”
4. “L’Accordéoniste”
5. “Le Brun et le Blond”
6. “Les Grognards”
7. “C’est Toujours la Même Histoire”
8. “Hudsonia”
9. “C’est à Hambourg”
10. “Non, La Vie N’est Pas Triste”
11. “Soudain Une Vallée”
12. “Marie Trottoir”
13. “Le Metro de Paris”
14. “Le Chant D’Amour”
15. “Les Blouses Blanches”