Tags

,

I met Kathleen Hanna, Johanna Fateman, and J.D. Samson in Tucson, AZ in 2001. They signed autographs and even took the time to chat with me for a few minutes. I showed Kathleen my drawing, and she signed it “Born in Flames.” I matted and framed it. I would have loved to meet the other members of Bikini Kill. They were my favorite band in high school. And I immediately checked out “Born in Flames” from the library. You should watch it if you haven’t already.

I was starstruck, as it was my first time meeting a celebrity. Kathleen said she was impressed by my drawing and that I was a good artist. I’ll have to scan it sometime; it’s in my closet. Then she said something about having a hoarse voice and needing health insurance. I was too busy gazing adoringly at her to remember much else. Oh, and she was wearing Built By Wendy jeans.

